Over spring break I decided that I needed a hobby that I would have something to show for, having a large collection of books didn’t seem to impress many people. So I decided to try making soap. My first batch turned out wonderfully but after using up a lot of the expensive olive and coconut oil from my moms kitchen I was told that I needed to find an alternative to those pricy oils. After some research I found that the oils could be substituted for beef tallow. Fortunately, since we had just butchered a beef there was no shortage of the fat I needed to make the tallow. To make the tallow I trimmed off any meat, gristle or blood from the fat and cooked it in a crock pot on low all day!

Throughout the day I would ladle out the clear liquid boiled off the fat into a cheesecloth to strain out any impurities. Once I gathered all the tallow I could and strained it through the cheesecloth I had more than enough product to make a batch of soap.

In order for it to harden I placed it in the fridge until I was ready to use it.

My soap recipie is:

600g beef tallow

80g lye (you can buy it at Home Hardware)

195g water

10g essential oil

Instructions:

Mix lye into water in a glass bowl. Do so outside so as to keep the fumes out of your house. Leave mixture to cool out of reach of children and pets.

Place beef tallow in large bowl with enough room for adding and mixing other  ingredients.

Once the lye mixture has cooled, bring it inside and pour into the beef tallow. Mix together gently.


Once the lye mixture has been incorporated into the beef tallow, start to blend with hand blender. Be careful not to spray mixture all over. When the mixture starts to thicken (stage called trace) mix in your essential oils.

Pour mixture into soap such as silicone pans or plastic containers. If placed in plastic containers be sure to oil them first.

Cover and set aside for at least 24 hours.

After 24 hours, uncover and see if you can unmould them. If it is too soft wait a few more hours. Do not wait too long if you are planning to cut the soap into smaller pieces or the soap will be too hard.


Once they have been cut into bars and/or removed from their moulds let sit for about a month, turning them over every day or two at first, then every week later on. This will let your soap dry out and harden.


Enjoy!

